Credit: Page 9: a courtroom scene showing a judge passing sentence on a couple. Watercolour drawing. Credit: Wellcome Collection. Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0).

 

Programme

 

Colonial Governance & Law

Tuesday, February 23, 2021                       

9 am EST (Boston), 2 pm GMT (London), 10 pm SGT (Singapore)

Diana Kim (Georgetown University)
Empires of Vice: The Rise of Opium Prohibition across Southeast Asia (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2020)

Nurfadzilah Yahaya (University of Singapore)
Fluid Jurisdictions: Colonial Law and Arabs in Southeast Asia (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2020)

Moderators: Kalyani Ramnath (Harvard), Iza Hussin (Cambridge)

Audio recording »

 

 

Writing International Legal History From and Through the Margins

Tuesday, March 23, 2021                            

5 pm EDT (Boston), 9 pm GMT (London), and March 24, 8 am AEDT (Sydney)

Mira Siegelberg (University of Cambridge)
Statelessness: A Modern History (Cambridge: Harvard University Press, 2020)

Cait Storr (University of Technology Sydney)
International Status in the Shadow of Empire. Nauru and the Histories of International Law (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2020)

Moderators: Surabhi Ranganathan (Cambridge), Franziska Exeler (Cambridge/FU Berlin)

Audio recording »

 

 

Empire & Maritime Legal History

Tuesday, April 20, 2021                              

9 am PDT (Vancouver), 12 pm EDT (Boston), 5 pm BST (London)

Renisa Mawani (University of British Columbia)
Oceans of Law. The Komagata Maru and Jurisdiction in the Time of Empire (Durham: Duke University Press, 2018)

Laurie Wood (Florida State University)
Archipelago of Justice. Law in France’s Early Modern Empire (New Haven: Yale University Press 2020)

Moderators: Kalyani Ramnath (Harvard), Iza Hussin (Cambridge)

Audio recording »

 

 

Economic Law & Histories of Economic Life

Tuesday, May 18, 2021                                

10 am EDT (Boston) and 3 pm BST (London)

Fei-Hsien Wang (Indiana University)
Pirates and Publishers: A Social History of Copyright in Modern China (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2020)

Lionel Bently (University of Cambridge)
Copyright, Translations, and Relations between Britain and India in the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries

Moderators: Surabhi Ranganathan (Cambridge), Franziska Exeler (Cambridge/FU Berlin)

Audio recording »

 

 

Empire and Histories of Criminal Law

Tuesday, June 15, 2021                               

 9 am EDT (Toronto/Boston), 2 pm BST (London)

Catherine Evans (University of Toronto)
Unsound Empire: Civilization and Madness in Late-Victorian Law (Yale University Press, forthcoming 2021)

Joseph McQuade (University of Toronto)
A Genealogy of Terrorism: Colonial Law and the Origins of an Idea (Cambridge University Press, 2020).

Moderators: Franziska Exeler (Cambridge/FU Berlin), Kalyani Ramnath (Harvard)

Audio recording »