Credit: Page 9: a courtroom scene showing a judge passing sentence on a couple. Watercolour drawing. Credit: Wellcome Collection. Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0).

 

Empire & Maritime Legal History

 

Tuesday, April 20, 2021
9 am PDT (Vancouver), 12 pm EDT (Boston), 5 pm BST (London)

Renisa Mawani (University of British Columbia)
Oceans of Law. The Komagata Maru and Jurisdiction in the Time of Empire (Durham: Duke University Press, 2018)

Laurie Wood (Florida State University)
Archipelago of Justice. Law in France’s Early Modern Empire (New Haven: Yale University Press 2020)

Moderators: Kalyani Ramnath (Harvard), Iza Hussin (Cambridge)