Credit: Page 9: a courtroom scene showing a judge passing sentence on a couple. Watercolour drawing. Credit: Wellcome Collection. Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0).

 

Colonial Governance & Law

 

Tuesday, February 23, 2021
9 am EST (Boston), 2 pm GMT (London), 10 pm SGT (Singapore)

Diana Kim (Georgetown University)
Empires of Vice: The Rise of Opium Prohibition across Southeast Asia (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2020)

Nurfadzilah Yahaya (University of Singapore)
Fluid Jurisdictions: Colonial Law and Arabs in Southeast Asia (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2020)

Moderators: Kalyani Ramnath (Harvard), Iza Hussin (Cambridge)

 

Registration for this event is now closed as maximum capacity has been reached. Thank you for your interest and we hope to see you at our other seminars.