Credit: Page 9: a courtroom scene showing a judge passing sentence on a couple. Watercolour drawing. Credit: Wellcome Collection. Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0).

 

Maritime Borderlands, Conflict, and the Law

 

Friday January 28, 2022
12pm EST (New York), 5pm GMT (London), 6pm CET (Paris)

Jatin Dua (University of Michigan)
Captured at Sea. Piracy and Protection in the Indian Ocean (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2019)

Nicholas W. Stephenson Smith (Northwestern)
Colonial Chaos in the Southern Red Sea. A History of Violence from 1830 to the Twentieth Century (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2021)

The seminar on Maritime Borderlands, Conflict, and the Law is jointly convened by the Centre for History and Economics, University of Cambridge (Iza Hussin, Surabhi Ranganathan, Kalyani Ramnath, and Franziska Exeler), and the Cambridge Global Politics Seminar (convened by Graham Denyer Willis, Iza Hussin, and Surer Mohamed).

 

Please register below for a Zoom link.